BEAUFORT – A veteran teacher and administrator has been chosen to be the next principal of River Ridge Academy in Bluffton.

Brian Ryman, currently an assistant principal at Bluffton High School, was recommended for the River Ridge Academy post by both Interim Superintendent Herb Berg and incoming Superintendent Frank Rodriguez.

Ryman’s selection was approved June 11 by the Beaufort County Board of Education.

“I’m honored and extremely excited,” Ryman said. “In just four years, River Ridge has established itself as one of the top-performing schools in Beaufort County, and that success is directly connected to the hard work and dedication of the students and staff. I’m looking forward to working with our school family to continue a tradition of excellence.”

Ryman’s education career began with six years as a social studies teacher at Woodmore High School in Elmore, Ohio. He then moved to Beaufort County and taught social studies at H.E. McCracken Middle School for two years before taking an assistant principal position at Bluffton High in 2016.

At Bluffton High, Ryman coordinated professional development for teachers and the school’s teacher evaluation processes.

Ryman earned a Bachelor’s Degree in integrated social studies and a Master’s Degree in educational administration from Ashland University in Ohio.

More than 80 educators applied for the principal’s position at River Ridge, and all applications were screened to determine which candidates met the basic qualifications.

A screening team then reviewed the applications in depth and recommended candidates for personal interviews.

Next, an interview committee met with the recommended candidates. That committee included two teachers, three principals, a School Improvement Council representative and the district’s chief instructional services officer.

After each interview, committee members rated the candidate and those ratings were submitted to Berg and Rodriguez, who then recommended Ryman to the Board of Education.

Aug. 19 will be the first day of school for students in the 2019-2020 school year.