The Foundation for Educational Excellence has presented the 2021 Peggy May Inspiration Award to the entire Beaufort County School District. The award is intended to congratulate every school, teacher, administrator, custodian, bus driver, cafeteria worker, technical support staff, adult education and Right Choices.

This award goes to everyone in the forefront and behind the scenes that is making a difference in our school system.

The Peggy May Inspiration Award recognizes a person or group who demonstrates extraordinary dedication, passion and skills that influence and inspire students. The award is named for former recipient, the late Peggy May, who served as county and state Director of Adult Literacy, and board chair of the Foundation for Educational Excellence.

Previous recipients include Kathy Cramer with S.O.A.R., Dr. Jane T. Upshaw, Dr. Emory Campbell, and Beaufort’s own American Idol winner Candice Glover.

“The Board members of the Foundation simply felt – how could we acknowledge one individual when so many have been working through this pandemic in new ways, new routines that are ever changing,” said Lisa Carroll, board chair for the foundation.

The announcement was made at a recent school board meeting through a video created by the Foundation.

“It is quite an honor to have this recognition,” said Beaufort County School District Superintendent, Dr. Frank Rodriguez. “We are so grateful they were able to capture the work of all of our employees in the school district and really capture their contributions to the success of our students.”

For more information, visit