Ten outstanding Beaufort County seniors were named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars at a luncheon Jan. 30 at the Sonesta Resort. The students come from five different high schools.

The graduating seniors selected are:

Bluffton High School – Elaine Guo, Caleb Kelly, Caleb Watkins

May River High School – Faith Shupard, Joshua Yeddulayyagari

Hilton Head Island High School – Elizabeth Jordan, Justin Mlodzinski, Zachary Waters

Battery Creek High School – Gabriella Morales

Beaufort High – Samuel Stewart

During the awards presentation, Scott Richardson told the audience, “This is always an exciting day for the Heritage Classic Foundation. Choosing the 10 students to receive these awards was a hard task. We believe the records of these young adults are better than ever. The teachers and administrators of our school systems, as well as the award winners, deserve special praise.”

Six of the newly named Scholars will receive a $16,000 scholarship over the next four years. Four additional awards carry a $20,000 opportunity.

Two of the latter scholarships honor the past Scholar Committee chairmen, John Zimmerman and the late Mike Malanick. One honors the late Scholar Committee member Charlie Brown, and the Tartan Club Award recognizes the donations made by the Tartan Club.

Created by the Heritage Classic Foundation, the Tartan Club is a group created by the individuals who share a desire to help others through the creation of scholarships for area students.

Next fall, 35 Beaufort County collegians will be receiving Foundation grants at an expenditure of $160,000. A grand total of $4,284,350 will have been awarded to 332 students after the 2019 distribution.

Richardson pointed out at the luncheon, sponsored by Palmetto Electric Cooperative, that “These scholars are not just straight A students. They are leaders in their schools, communities and churches. They have interests that vary from government to sports to helping animals in need.”

In addition to these ten scholarships, the Foundation is funding four $2,500 annual scholarships to the University of South Carolina Beaufort and two $1,500 annual scholarships to the Technical College of the Low Country.