The Beaufort County School District honored 108 high school seniors for outstanding academic achievement at its April 18 annual Senior Scholars Banquet.

Senior Scholars are students who have been enrolled in a Beaufort County School District high school for a minimum of three consecutive semesters by the second semester of the senior year, and who have maintained a cumulative 3.5 grade-point average or higher, are ranked in the top 10% of their graduating classes, and earned the equivalent of an 85% grade or higher in college prep courses, an 80% grade or higher in honors courses, and a 75% grade or higher in advanced placement, international baccalaureate, or dual enrollment courses in all quarters of their high school career.

“We’re exceptionally proud of what these outstanding seniors have accomplished during their high school years, and we’re confident their successes will continue into the future,” said Superintendent Frank Rodriguez.

This year’s banquet speaker was Bluffton High School’s Karina Dorris, a native Bluffton resident and 2021 Senior Scholar, who is an honors nursing and psychology student at the University of South Carolina Beaufort (USCB), where she currently serves as president of the USCB Fellowship of Christian Athletes, vice-president of the Public Health Student Organization, and freshman/sophomore president of the Honors Student Association. 

Also serving as a math, Spanish, and English tutor at USCB, Dorris believes hard work is key to achieving one’s goals. She encouraged this year’s Senior Scholars to not be afraid of failure or rejection, but rather to embrace the opportunity to learn and grow from one’s experiences, never giving up.  

This year’s Senior Scholar banquet honorees from Bluffton are: Yarely Amador (MRHS); Anya Arroyo (MRHS); Elise Augustyniewicz (MRHS); Ashlyn Babkiewicz (MRHS); Caleb Batten (MRHS); Lyndsay Borja (BLHS); Jessica Buskey (MRHS); Illya Busorgin (MRHS); Kyrylo Busorgin (MRHS); Patrick Carr (MRHS); Avery Chen (BLHS); Hannah Davis (BLHS); Gracen Denton (MRHS); Jack Dewey (MRHS): Catherine Douthit (MRHS); Trisha Duong (BLHS); Chloe Fry (BLHS); Amya Gossett (BLHS); Shelby Gourley (MRHS); Madison Hahn (MRHS); Madison Hebert (BLHS); Megan Hewes (MRHS); Morgan Hewes (MRHS); Saul Huizar Ornelas (MRHS); Lucy Jackson (BLHS); Julia John (BLHS); Morgan Kronimus (MRHS); Evan Lessard (BLHS); Emily Manzanares Cardenas (MRHS); Thomas Maybank (MRHS); Brendan Michael (MRHS); Estefany Mondragon (MRHS); McKenzie Morgan (BLHS); Abigail Nance (MRHS); Vivian Nguyen (MRHS); Jason Ni (BLHS); Rachel Nix (BLHS); Sarah Nunez (MRHS); Faith Paxton (BLHS); Lucy Peltz (MRHS); Tess Polites (MRHS); Nathanael Rios (BLHS); Kathryn Ryan (BLHS); Kaitlyn Shrewsbury (BLHS); Tyler Thompson (BLHS); Trisha Tran (MRHS); Brooks van Esselstyn (MRHS); Masani Ward (MRHS); and Hannah Wease (MRHS).